Pet Policy Guide

Pet-Friendly Hotels in Austin, Texas

one of the most dog-friendly US cities, patios + parks. We looked past the generic "pet friendly" checkbox and sourced the real fee, weight limit, and pet-count policy for 30 hotels in Austin — so there are no surprises at check-in.

Policies current as of 2026-07-02 — always confirm at booking, since hotel pet policies change and can vary by specific property even within the same brand.

The Westin Austin Downtown

No pet fee
70 lbs
Disputed — confirm at booking

Dogs only (cats not allowed). Provides Heavenly Dog Bed, bowl, waste bags, doggy treats from a local bakery, and a 'wagWestin' map of dog-friendly routes. Pets may not be left unattended.

Two independent research passes disagree on max pets per room (1 vs 2) — the official Marriott page could not be directly fetched (403) by one pass, so this is aggregator-sourced; confirm the pet-count limit directly with the hotel before booking.

Hyatt Centric Congress Avenue Austin

No pet fee
75 lbs combined for 2 pets
2 pets per room

Dogs and cats allowed. Dog beds and bowls available upon request.

The LINE Austin

No pet fee
No weight limit stated
Not stated

Independent hotel. Dog, cat, and bird friendly; no fees, no weight limits stated. Front desk offers courtesy bags, water bowls, and treats.

Max pets per room was not explicitly stated by any source found — treat as unconfirmed rather than unlimited.

Best Western Plus Austin Central

$20 per pet, per night, capped at $100 per pet, per week
80 lbs
2 pets per room

Refundable $20 cleaning/damage deposit required at check-in. Pet-friendly rooms are designated (not all rooms). Cats considered with prior approval only; other pet types at hotel's discretion.

Cross-checked by two independent research passes with consistent figures. A separate generic (non-property-specific) search characterized Best Western's Austin-area pricing differently ($30/day, $150/week max) — this property's own booking-page figures are treated as authoritative. Because only designated rooms are pet-friendly and cat acceptance needs prior approval, availability may be more limited than the base 'pet friendly' listing suggests.

Aiden by Best Western Austin City Hotel

$40 per pet, per night
80 lbs
2 pets per room

Both dogs and cats permitted.

Best Western franchise properties set pet policy individually — this fee is notably higher than Best Western Plus Austin Central ($20/night) elsewhere in this list, underscoring that fees vary significantly even within the same parent brand in the same city.

Aloft Austin Downtown

$50 per stay (non-refundable)
40 lbs
Disputed — confirm at booking

Dogs and cats allowed. 'Arf Program' provides complimentary bed, bowl, and treats/toys. Grassy pet relief area on property. Pets may not be left unattended.

Two independent research passes disagree on max pets per room (1 vs 2). Separately, if a dog exceeds the 40 lb weight limit, the hotel reportedly allows guests to call and request a waiver — actual enforcement may vary from the published limit.

Hampton Inn & Suites Austin-Downtown/Convention Center

$50 non-refundable per stay
75 lbs
Not stated

Standard Hilton-brand pet policy for this property.

Sourced from this property's own listing on Hilton's site, not an aggregator — but Hilton pet policies vary by individual franchise property, so don't assume this applies to other Austin Hampton Inns.

DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Austin Downtown Capitol

$50 per night
40 lbs
Not stated

Dogs only, cats not allowed.

IMPORTANT: other DoubleTree-branded hotels in the Austin metro (e.g. DoubleTree by Hilton Austin, University Area) explicitly do NOT allow pets at all — do not assume every DoubleTree in Austin is pet-friendly; this Downtown Capitol property is the exception.

Hilton Austin

$50 per pet, per stay
75 lbs
2 pets per room

Dogs only; cats are not permitted.

Sourced from an aggregator, not Hilton's own site directly (direct fetch of hilton.com returned a 403). Hilton's brand-wide pet policy notes fees can vary by specific property and franchise ownership.

AC Hotel Austin Hill Country

$50 per night
No weight limit stated
Not stated

Source describes 'any number of dogs of any size' welcome — no stated cap on count or weight.

'Any number of dogs of any size' is an atypical claim relative to every other property researched in either city (all others cap pet count and/or weight) — flagging as needing direct property confirmation before treating as accurate.

Renaissance Austin Hotel

$50 per day, non-refundable (up to $200 per week)
No weight limit stated
2 pets per room

Dogs of any size allowed; cats are not permitted. Pets cannot be left unattended. Grassy pet relief area on-site; hotel restaurant is pet-friendly.

Guests are advised to call ahead for same-day arrivals to confirm pet-room availability — suggests pet-friendly room inventory may be limited and not guaranteed at time of booking.

Cambria Hotel Austin Downtown

$75 per pet, per stay
No weight limit stated
2 pets per room

Dogs only, no size/weight limit stated. Fee does not apply to federally recognized service animals (emotional support animals are NOT exempt). Front desk offers courtesy bags, water bowls, treats. Guests advised to call (512) 564-8000 ahead to confirm any breed restrictions.

Cross-checked by two independent research passes with consistent results — no conflict, but the call-ahead note for breed restrictions implies not all policy detail is published online.

Hotel Indigo Austin Downtown - University (an IHG Hotel)

$75 non-refundable stay fee (one source also mentions an additional $75 refundable deposit — unclear if both apply; confirm before booking)
Disputed — confirm at booking
2 pets per room

Dogs only, cats not permitted. Designated pet-friendly areas on property.

Both independent research passes flagged the SAME weight-limit discrepancy independently (good cross-validation that this is a real, not a research-error, conflict) — IHG's own site says 75 lbs while other aggregator listings say 40-50 lbs. This matters for a size-sensitive traveler; confirm directly with the hotel or current IHG listing before booking.

Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin Downtown

$75 for stays of 1-4 nights, $125 for longer stays
No weight limit stated
2 pets per room

Extended-stay all-suite property; pets of any size allowed per this listing.

The general Homewood Suites brand policy is quoted elsewhere as a flat $50 fee, but this specific Austin Downtown property charges more ($75/$125) — the property-specific figure is treated as authoritative but is worth confirming directly.

Staybridge Suites Austin NW (an IHG Hotel)

$75 per pet, per week
No weight limit stated
2 pets per room

Extended-stay property; dogs of any size allowed per this listing.

Fee is quoted as 'per week' by this source; unclear how it prorates for shorter stays — confirm with hotel.

Candlewood Suites Austin North 290 & I-35

$75 (stays up to 6 nights) / $150 (7+ nights)
80 lbs
2 pets per room

Non-refundable pet fee tiered by length of stay.

Other Austin-area Candlewood Suites properties (Round Rock, Cedar Park) list different fee structures — fee is property-specific within this sub-brand, not standardized across Austin-area locations.

Holiday Inn Austin Airport

$75 (plus $15/day for extended stays)
Not published — described only as 'small dogs' with no stated cutoff
2 pets per room

Dogs only.

"Small dogs" language implies an unstated size restriction — actual weight cutoff not published anywhere found; contact hotel to confirm before booking a larger dog.

Hyatt Place Austin/Lake Travis/Four Points

$75 nonrefundable cleaning fee (up to 6 nights); $175 total for 7+ nights
50 lbs individually / 75 lbs combined for 2 pets
2 pets per room

Dogs and cats allowed. On-site Pet Walk area stocked with waste bags and receptacles.

Hilton Garden Inn Austin University Capitol District

$75 per stay
75 lbs
2 pets per room

Both dogs and cats welcome.

Hilton Garden Inn is franchise-heavy; fee is set at the property level. A separate Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown property was reported elsewhere with a $50 fee — do not assume this fee applies chain-wide even within Austin.

Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin Arboretum

$75 per stay
No weight limit stated
2 pets per room

Both dogs and cats welcome; no weight limit stated in this source.

Sourced from an aggregator, not Hilton's own site directly (direct fetch returned a 403); confirm directly with the property before publishing as final.

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin Airport East

$75 per stay (1-3 nights); $125 per stay (4+ nights)
50 lbs per pet
2 pets per room

Tiered fee based on length of stay. A different, Express-branded property than 'Holiday Inn Austin Airport' above.

IHG's own pet-policy documentation indicates policy and fees are set at the individual franchise property level and vary significantly between same-brand IHG hotels in the same city — don't assume this fee applies to other Holiday Inn Express locations in Austin.

Hotel Van Zandt (Kimpton)

$100 per stay
No weight limit stated
2 pets per room

Dogs welcome, no weight/height/breed restrictions. 10% of each pet fee donated to the Austin Animal Center. Release form required at check-in; guest provides dog's name/breed/size when booking. Pet amenities (bed, bowls) provided.

Cross-checked by two independent research passes, both agreeing on $100/stay. Kimpton's general brand-wide marketing describes properties as having 'no extra charge' for pets, but this specific property's own official FAQ page clearly states $100/stay — the brand-wide claim does not apply here.

Fairmont Austin

$100 one-time fee
25 lbs
Not stated

Pet must be leashed at all times and not left unattended in room. Guest liable for pet-caused damage. Service animals exempt from fee and restrictions.

Both independent research passes found the same conflicting secondary figure ($150) circulating elsewhere online, but both confirmed $100 directly from the hotel's own official FAQ page — treated as authoritative, but worth a quick re-check at booking given the outside discrepancy.

The Otis Hotel Austin, Autograph Collection

$100 non-refundable per room, per stay
30 lbs
2 pets per room

Dogs only, up to 30 lbs each, in designated pet-friendly rooms only. Pet amenities include Woofgang Bakery cookies, a record-player-shaped dog bed, food/water bowls, toys, waste bags, and a doggy dining menu.

Pets are only accommodated in designated rooms — confirm at booking that a pet-friendly room type is specifically selected, since general availability may be limited.

Hyatt Place Austin Downtown

$100 non-refundable (1-6 nights); $200 non-refundable (7+ nights)
50 lbs per dog (75 lbs combined for 2 dogs)
2 pets per room

A different specific Austin property than 'Hyatt Place Austin/Lake Travis/Four Points' above, despite the shared brand.

Hyatt Place's fee structure appears to repeat closely across multiple Austin-area Hyatt Place/Hyatt House properties, suggesting this may be a brand-level policy rather than something unique to this hotel — but it wasn't independently fetched from Hyatt's own site to confirm, so treat as likely-but-not-certain.

Hyatt House Austin/Downtown

$100 (1-6 nights); additional $100 deep-cleaning fee for stays over 6 nights
50 lbs per dog (75 lbs combined for 2 dogs)
2 pets per room

Dogs only.

Same brand-wide-vs-property caveat as the two Hyatt Place entries above — this fee structure appears consistently across Austin-area Hyatt Place/House properties, likely a brand-level policy.

Residence Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center

$100 non-refundable fee per stay
50 lbs
Not stated

Dogs only, no cats. Pets must be crated if left unattended; pet guests assigned ground-floor rooms.

Marriott states Residence Inn pet policy varies by property; reverify on this specific hotel's page before booking, don't assume brand-wide consistency.

Residence Inn Austin South

$100 per stay
50 lbs per pet
2 pets per room

Fee collected by the property upon arrival (not prepaid).

Same Residence Inn brand-vs-property caveat as the Downtown/Convention Center location above.

Omni Austin Hotel Downtown

$125 per stay (non-refundable cleaning fee)
25 lbs
2 pets per room

Both dogs and cats allowed. Crated pets may be left unattended if the kennel is shown to the front desk at check-in. Pets not permitted in the pool area or dining outlets. Guide/service dogs exempt from fee and weight limit.

Hyatt Regency Austin

Fee varies — confirm at booking
50 lbs (single dog) or 75 lbs combined for 2 dogs
2 pets per room

Dogs only — cats not allowed. Grassy pet relief areas on property.

This is the most significant fee discrepancy found across either city's research — two independent passes found materially different numbers ($150-300 vs $100). Treat the fee as unconfirmed until verified directly with the hotel.

Pet Policy FAQ for Austin, Texas

Do hotels in Austin charge pet fees?

Most do. Across the 30 Austin hotels we've checked, fees run typically $20–$125 per stay, though 3 charge no pet fee at all.

Which Austin hotels have no pet fee?

The Westin Austin Downtown, Hyatt Centric Congress Avenue Austin, The LINE Austin currently charge no pet fee.

Is there a weight limit for dogs at Austin hotels?

It varies by hotel. 8 of the 30 Austin hotels we've checked don't publish a weight limit at all; where a limit is stated, it's noted per hotel below.

Can I bring two dogs to a hotel in Austin?

At many of them, yes — 22 of the 30 Austin hotels we've checked allow 2 or more pets per room. Confirm the exact count per hotel below.

Which Austin hotels are most dog-friendly?

The LINE Austin lead the pack — no pet fee and no stated weight limit.

Ready to book a pet-friendly stay in Austin?

See live availability and rates for these hotels now.

See all dog-friendly cities →

DenStays

Premium pet-friendly hotel stays for you and your beloved companions. Travel together, always.

Pet Travel Tips

  • Bring your pet's documents
  • Check local pet regulations
  • Pack familiar comfort items
  • Schedule vet visits before travel

© 2026 DenStays. All rights reserved.

Made with for pet lovers